July 9, 2024

Cut Newyork

Power for Business

NY Times, WSJ both take home three Loeb Awards

NY Times, WSJ both take home three Loeb Awards

The New York Occasions and The Wall Road Journal were the only numerous winners — each individual having house three — Thursday at the Gerald Loeb Awards banquet.

The Periods and ProPublica received the international classification for “China Propaganda.”

The journalists were being Paul MozurRaymond ZhongJeff KaoAaron KrolikAliza AufrichtigMuyi XiaoNailah Morgan and Grey Beltran.

The Periods gained in the visible storytelling class for “3-D Worlds.”

And it won in the video category, alongside with Fx and Hulu, for “Framing Britney Spears.” The journalists were Liz Day and Samantha Stark.

The Wall Street Journal won in the conquer reporting classification for “Facebook Information.” The staff members who worked on the undertaking ended up
Jeff HorwitzGa WellsDeepa SeetharamanKeach HageyJustin ScheckNewley PurnellSam Schechner and Emily Glazer.

The Journal also won in the breaking information category for “The GameStop Frenzy.” The reporters were  Juliet ChungGunjan Banerji, Julia-Ambra Verlaine, Caitlin McCabe and Akane Otani.

And The Journal won in the explanatory classification for “Inside TikTok’s Dangerously Addictive Algorithm.” The journalists ended up Rob BarryGeorgia WellsJohn WestJoanna SternFrank Matt, Tawnell D. Hobbs, Yoree Koh, Jason French and Julie Jargon.

The Philadelphia Inquirer and Highlight Pennsylvania won the regional reporting class for “How Pennsylvania’s Biggest Pension Fund Squandered Billions, Hurt Taxpayers and Induced an FBI Investigation.” The journalists have been Craig McCoy, Joseph DiStefano and Angela Couloumbis.

Kaiser Wellness News and This American Lifestyle gained in the audio group for “‘We’re Coming for You’: For General public Overall health Officials, a 12 months of Threats and Menace.” The journalists ended up Anna Maria Barry-Jester and Miki Meek.

In the element category, the winner was New York Magazine and The Verge for “Revolt of the Supply Workers” by Josh Dzieza.

In the individual finance and consumer reporting class, the winner was The Markup for “Amazon’s Gain.” The journalists were Adrianne Jeffries, Leon YinEvelyn LarrubiaGabriel HongsdusitBen TanenMicha GorelickRitu Ghiya and Jeff Crouse. It was The Markup’s first Loeb acquire.

The commentary classification winner was Chad Livengood of Crain’s Detroit Business for his auto insurance plan columns.

The Tampa Bay Occasions and PBS “Frontline” gained in the investigative reporting class for “Poisoned.” The reporters had been Corey G. JohnsonRebecca Woolington and Eli Murray.

The winners were declared through the 1st in-particular person Loeb Awards party in 3 years on Thursday at Capitale in New York Metropolis.

The Gerald Loeb Awards ended up created to motivate and assist reporting on organization and finance that inform and safeguard the private investor and the common general public. The awards are regarded the optimum honor in enterprise journalism in the United States.